Wednesday, December 01, 2010

Mavricks Big Wave Surfing Contest

The Jay at Mavericks Big Wave Invitational has a contest window starts today. The window for hitting the big waves if from from Dec. 1 to Feb. 28, which means that the competition can be held any time during that period. The actual start of the contest depends on wave conditions. Once the contest is on competitors have had just 24 hours to arrive in Half Moon Bay. This years contest has been renamed to "The Jay at Mavericks Big Wave Invitational" after deceased surfer Jay Moriarity.

The 2010-2011 Mavricks Big Wave Surfing Contest contestants are:
Chris Bertish (South Africa)
Peter Mel (Santa Cruz)
Ryan Augenstein (Santa Cruz)
Shane Desmond (Santa Cruz)
Grant Washburn (San Francisco)
Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
Anthony Tashnick (Santa Cruz)
Ryan Seelbach (San Francisco)
Rusty Long (San Clemente)
Kenny Collins (Santa Cruz)
Darryl Virostko (Santa Cruz)
Tyler Smith (Santa Cruz)
Dave Wassel (Hawaii)
Greg Long (San Clemente)
Nathan Fletcher (Hawaii)
Carlos Burle (Brazil)
Zach Wormhoudt (Santa Cruz)
Matt Ambrose (Pacifica)
Grant Baker (South Africa)
Mark Healey (Hawaii)
Kelly Slater (Florida)
Alex Martins (San Francisco)
Shawn Dollar (Santa Cruz)
Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)

The Half Moon Bay Surf Group renamed the contest "The Jay at Mavericks Big Wave Invitational" as a tribute to the late Bay Area surfer, Jay Moriarity, who became famous for mastering the waves at Mavericks as a teenager and who died at age 22 in a diving accident. Moriarity was respected in the surfing community for his generous character and pure stoke.